## Section 4.—Royal Commission on National Development in the Arts, Letters and Sciences\*

The Royal Commission on National Development in the Arts, Letters and Sciences was established by P.C. 1786 on Apr. 8, 1949. The members of the Commission are: The Rt. Hon. Vincent Massey, P.C., C.H., Chancellor of the University of Toronto (Chairman); Arthur Surveyer, Esq., B.A.Sc., C.E., D.Eng., LL.D., Civil Engineer, Montreal; Norman A. M. MacKenzie, Esq., C.M.G., K.C., LL.D., President, University of British Columbia; The Most Reverend Georges-Henri Lévesque, O.P., D.Sc. Soc., Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences, Laval University; Miss Hilda Neatby, M.A., Ph.D., Professor of History and Acting Head of the Department, University of Saskatchewan.

The basis of the appointment of this Royal Commission was a report received by the Committee of the Privy Council from the Rt. Hon. Louis S. St. Laurent, Prime Minister of Canada, submitting that:—

- (1) The Canadian people should know as much as possible about their country, its history and traditions; their national life and common achievements.
- (2) In the national interest encouragement should be given to institutions that express national feeling, promote common understanding and add to the variety and richness of Canadian life.
- (3) An examination be conducted into the federal agencies that already exist and contribute to these ends, including the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, the National Film Board, the National Gallery, the National Museum, the Public Archives, the Library of Parliament, the National War Museum, the system of aid for research including scholarships maintained by the National Research Council and other governmental agencies, with a view to recommending their most effective conduct in the national interest and with full respect for the constitutional jurisdiction of the provinces.

In line with these objectives the Commissioners were instructed to examine and make recommendations upon:—

- (1) The principles that should govern national policy in respect to radio and television broadcasting.
- (2) The scope and activities of the federal agencies referred to in (3) above, including: methods by which research is aided, including grants for scholarships; the eventual character of the National Library; the manner in which all such agencies and activities should be conducted, financed and controlled, and other matters relevant thereto.
- (3) Methods by which the relations of Canada with the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization and with other organizations operating in this field should be conducted.
- (4) Relations of the Government of Canada and any of its agencies with various national voluntary bodies operating in the field with which the inquiry will be concerned.

The Commissioners were appointed under Part I of the Inquiries Act and are authorized to exercise all the powers conferred on them by that statute: they are to be assisted in their work to the fullest extent by the officials of all appropriate departments and agencies. The Commissioners are empowered to engage such counsel, staff and expert assistance as may be required by them for the proper conduct of their inquiry.

From the time of its establishment in April, 1949, until July, 1950, the Royal Commission on Arts, Letters and Sciences had held over 100 public sessions, one or more in each province. A total of 444 briefs has been received by the Commission at public hearings. Additional briefs submitted by individuals and organizations

<sup>\*</sup> Prepared in collaboration with Dr. Archibald A. Day, Secretary of the Royal Commission on National Development in the Arts, Letters and Sciences.